1.877.833.1202

Synchronize Working Documents

FileHold makes managing the documents that users have downloaded to their local machine easy. These "working documents" can be ones that have been checked out of FileHold for edit or downloaded as local copies for local reference.

When the user wants to clean up the files that they have downloaded or checked out to their local machine they can do so by logging into the FileHold Desktop Client and using the Working Documents tool.

Working Documents.png

The results screen will appear with the default "local folder"* contents showing. The results screen also lets users know if the file has been checked out, modified and also gives a local version number and whether it is the last version located in FileHold. This information helps users decide what action to take for each file.

Note: The "local folder" is the "My FileHold Documents folder that is automatically created by FileHold when it is installed. It is created (by default) in the "My Documents" Folder of the users computer.

WorkingDocuments_LocalFolderOnly.png

In order to see documents that a user may have downloaded to folders other than the default folder, the user can deselect the "Show my local working folder only" default setting.

WorkingDocuments_DefaultSetting_Deselected.png

The list of all documents that a user has downloaded or checked out will appear.

WorkingDocuments_All.png

Users can then select files one at a time or in groups and using the "Synchronize" button at the bottom of the results screen, choose which local folder(s) clean-up function they would like to perform.

Users have 3 functions to select from:

  • "Get newer version of files from the library"
    • downloads a more recent version of a document from FileHold to the local folder when the version on FileHold is newer than the one in the local machine.
  • "Check-in files that I have updated locally"
    • Checks in files that users have updated locally but not yet returned to the document management system
  • Remove duplicate or older files that I have on my local computer"
    • Checks for files that are duplicated or are older versions of documents that have newer versions available and deletes them from the local folder

WorkingDocuments_SynchorinzationOptions.png

Working documents list can be accessed when users are disconnected from the server and working offline, however they will not be able to synchronize the files until they are again hooked up to the server. This means that they may not have access to the very latest version of a document or that any updating that they do to a document offline will have to wait until they are reconnected to the server to be updated in FileHold.

Note for Microsoft Office products, when opening a document from the FDA, upon closing the document in the Office application, the file will be automatically removed from the working folder. There is an exception to this rule - when opening Outlook files from the FileHold Desktop Application, the files are not automatically removed from the working folder (typically My Documents/My FileHold) upon closing the msg file. Non-Microsoft documents are not deleted upon close because FileHold cannot detect when a user closes a document in non-Microsoft applications.

TIP: Documents can be deleted when prompted to clean up the working folder upon exiting out of the FDA or using the Working Documents utility. This is configured in the FDA user preferences.

To access the working documents tool

  1. Open the FileHold Desktop Application.
  2. Select Tools > Working Documents. The list of working documents appears.
  3. Click Synchronize.
  4. Select from the options outlined above.