1.877.833.1202

The Inbox

The FileHold Desktop Application’s (FDA) Inbox is designed to streamline the importing of many documents into the library by removing the bottlenecks associated when adding and classifying files en masse. The Inbox is a queue or list of files that have not yet been copied to the FileHold Server.

The Inbox is specific to each user's FileHold Desktop Application (FDA) on their workstation and user account profile unless you share your Inbox. Sharing your Inbox allows others to file the contents of your Inbox on your behalf. For example, if there is a dedicated scanning station with several people scanning documents to be added into FileHold, all users who can log into the Windows environment of that scanning station will be able to file all the scanned documents in the Inbox. This is because the Inbox is shared between all the users who can log in with a Windows user account.

The Inbox is the first category visible in the library structure. The Inbox acts as a staging area for documents that are queued for processing on the client machine prior to be sent to the Library. All documents in this list remain on the client machine until they are sent to the library. Files located in the Inbox will only be ready to be sent to the Library once they have both required metadata (tags) values entered and a destination folder associated with each file.

The Inbox is specific to each user's Desktop Client on their workstation and on their Windows\Domain user account profile therefore other users cannot see what is in your Inbox unless you are sharing a workstation.

FileHold Inbox

Users can quickly add all the files from a network folder, local computer, Watched Folders, Manage Imports, scanned documents, or external hardware such as a USB stick.

The status column lets users know if more information is required before the file can be sent to the document management system. A status of "Info Required" indicates that the required metadata or a destination have not been set. Once all the required information is set, the status changes to "Ready to Send" and file can then be uploaded by clicking the Send or Send All (used when multiple files are ready to be sent to the Library). The documents are then sent to their destination folders and are removed from the Inbox.

The Inbox can be sorted by document name, type, coming from, or going to by clicking on the column header name. The columns can be sorted in ascending or descending order by clicking on the arrow button next to the header name.

NOTE: The Inbox is not available in the Web Client interface of FileHold’s document management solution.

The following table describes the functions of the Inbox:

Function

Description

+ (Add documents)

Adds documents from outside the document management system.

Remove from Inbox

Removes the selected document(s) from the Inbox.

Edit Metadata

Allows you to enter the metadata for the selected documents

Select multiple documents to be filed under the same schema and click Edit Metadata. You can set all the metadata fields to the same value.

Edit Destination

Allows you to select the destination folder for documents.

Select multiple documents to be filed under the same folder and click Edit Destination. You can set the destination to the same folder.

Send

Sends a single document to the Library. The metadata and the destination must be set in order to send a document to the repository.

Send All

Sends all documents that have set metadata and destination to the library.

Auto-File

Automatically files documents in folders according to the rule set on the schema. This needs to be configured.

 

Shared Inbox

When importing documents into FileHold, you can now share the contents of your Inbox with other users if you have sufficient rights.

Documents in the Inbox can be shared between users on the same computer. Sharing your Inbox allows others to file the contents of your Inbox on your behalf. For example, if there is a dedicated scanning station with several people scanning documents to be added into FileHold, all users who can log into the Windows environment of that scanning station will be able to file all the scanned documents in the Inbox. This is because the Inbox is shared between all the users who can log in with a Windows user account.

You can set whether you want to share your Inbox in the Connection Options window. Note that if you change this setting, it won’t take effect until you log off and then log back in.