1.877.833.1202

Mass Editing Users

The Mass Edit screen allows you to mass update a user status, delete local users, reset passwords, change user license, change viewer license, update web scanning license, and add or remove users to groups.

In order to make mass updates, users must first be selected on the Users page. Use the check boxes next to the user name or use the Shift or Ctrl keys on your keyboard to select multiple users, or select the top-level check box in the check box column to select all users.

Users List - Multi-select users

The number of licenses available are displayed in green. If there are not enough licenses to update all the selected users, the number is displayed in red. In this case, you cannot update the user accounts.

After you have mass edited the users, a summary page is shown summarizing the changes that were made. If sufficient licenses are available, the license count are highlighted in green. If the number is not sufficient, it is highlighted in red.

To mass edit users

  1. Go to Administration > User Management > Users.
  2. In the Users list screen, use the check boxes or the Shift and/or Ctrl keys to select multiple users. To select all users, select the top-level check box.

TIP: Use the filters in the column headers to get a list of the users that require updating, then select the top-level check box to select all users.

  1. Click Mass Edit. If sufficient licenses are available, the license count is highlighted in green. If the number is not sufficient, it is highlighted in red. You can still perform the action if there are not sufficient licenses. The following functions are available from the User mass edit screen:

Function

Description

Update user status

Enabled or Disabled

When an employee joins or leaves an organization they need to have a user account enabled or disabled. In other situations, users may continue to work for an organization but simply no longer need access to FileHold. Enabling and disabling user accounts lets the Systems Administrator create and disable user access to the system without having to delete user accounts.

When a user no longer requires access to the system the user account can be easily disabled. Disabling idle user accounts frees up a license for another user.

By default, when a user is created in the system, the account is enabled. You need to enable a user account if they have exceeded the number of login attempts set in FileHold.

Delete user

Deleting a user from the system removes any ownership of the deleted user's documents, folders or cabinet ownership. It is recommended to not delete a user if you wish to maintain the account in case the user ever needs access to FileHold again. Instead, you should disable a user account. This way the account can be re-enabled in the future. The actual user account is never deleted - the user name is internally represented by a GUID that exists perpetually in the system.

Deleting a user action cannot be undone. It is recommended that you disable user accounts instead of deleting them.

If you must delete the user account, be sure to use the Change Document Owner and Change Cabinet/Folder Owner features in the library administration area to give the cabinets, folders, and documents a new owner. See the Library Administration Guide for more information.

Automatic password reset

Sends an email to selected users containing a link to reset their password. See Resetting User Passwords for more information.

Update user license

Changes the type of user license assigned to the user account. See User Roles and Accessing the Library for more information.

Full – For users requiring a role of read-only or higher. Full users consume the full concurrent sessions.

Limited registered – For users requiring a role of limited. Limited registered users can only be assigned to groups with the limited role. A single limited registered user account can be used by a single user or shared amongst many people. Limited registered users consume limited concurrent sessions.

Portal alias – The single user account that is required to be set up to use with the Anonymous Portal. The portal alias user can only be assigned to a group with the limited role. The portal alias user consumes limited concurrent sessions. A separate portal alias account can be created for each anonymous portal.

Update viewer license assignment

Set a viewer license for the currently selected users:

  • FileHold viewer level 1
  • FileHold viewer level 2
  • FileHold viewer level 3
  • Brava Office viewer
  • Brava Office viewer CAD
  • Brava Office viewer Engineering
  • None

Starting in 2017, Brava viewer licenses are no longer available for new purchases. This information is retained for existing users only.

Update web scanning license assignment

Select the two checkboxes to give a WebCap web scanning license for currently selected users.

To clear the web scanning license, select the first check box only.

Add user to group(s)

Add currently selected users to a group. Select the group from the list.

Remove users from group(s)

Remove the currently selected users from a group. Select the group name from the list.

  1. Click Submit.
  2. A summary screen appears with a list of the actions that were completed. It may also show the number of remaining licenses, depending on the action taken or messages relating to the number of users effected by the change.
  1. Click OK to return to the Users list.