Working with Documents Offline
It doesn’t matter if you’re using a stand-alone, virtual, or server in the Cloud — when an internet or network connection is not available, it is sometimes necessary to work offline.
If you are travelling or out of the office and are not connected to the FileHold document management server, you can still work on your important documents offline. The document management software will recognize the document changes and can be synchronized with the Library once you are back online.
Getting documents out of the system
Before leaving the office simply get a copy or check out a document from the Library. Note that when you check out the document, the document is essentially “locked” and no other users can make changes to the document. The documents are downloaded from the Library to the “working folder” on the local computer (this is typically the C:/.../My Documents/My FileHold Documents folder). Once the documents are downloaded, you can work on all of your documents offline as much as needed. Upon returning to the office or resuming internet access, you can synchronize the document changes to the Library using the Working Documents tool in the FileHold Desktop Application.
Upon returning to the office or resuming internet access, you can synchronize the document changes to the Library using the Working Documents tool in the FileHold Desktop Application. The Working Documents window displays a list of all of the documents that were downloaded or checked out to the “working folder”. If the documents are in another folder location on your computer, FileHold can recognize those changes as well by clearing the “Show my local working folder only” check box.
FileHold does not instantly synchronize your documents when your internet connection resumes. Instead, the document management software allows you to decide what you want to do with each document by selecting one of the synchronization options:
- Get newer version of files from the Library — This will download the latest version from the Library and replace the current version on your local computer.
- Check-in files I have updated locally — Any checked out documents will be checked in. If you have not checked out the document prior to the changes, the synchronization process will recognize this and give you the option to check out the files first and then check in the updates automatically.
- Remove duplicate or older files I have on my local computer — Any old or duplicate files will be deleted. If you have checked out documents but have not modified them, you have the option to cancel the checkout.
You can preview which documents in the list will be affected by the changes prior to committing to the synchronization process. Once you have selected your synchronization options, the documents are synchronized automatically and you can get back to work!
FileHold document management software makes it easy to work anywhere — offline or online. To speak with a sales consultant about working with documents offline with FileHold document management software, email [email protected].