1.877.833.1202

Cancelling Workflows

A workflow can be cancelled by the person who initiated it or by a Library or System Administrator. Cancelling a workflow terminates the workflow immediately and notification emails are sent to all participants. The workflow process does not continue after it is cancelled.

If a workflow approval is postponed and later restarted, then the restarted workflow gets cancelled, the resulting status of the cancelled workflow is “approval postponed”.

Tip: Workflow approvals are automatically terminated if a workflow is marked as not approved or approval postponed by a single participant.

To cancel a workflow instance

  1. Do one of the following:
  1. Click Cancel Workflow. All participants in the workflow that had tasks assigned to them will have the tasks automatically removed from their Task List. If they have set preferences to alert them of cancelled tasks by email, an email will be sent.