1.877.833.1202

Enabling or Disabling User Accounts

When an employee joins or leaves an organization they will need to have a user account enabled or disabled. In other situations, users may continue to work for an organization but simply no longer need access to FileHold. Enabling and disabling user accounts lets the Systems Administrator create and disable user access to the system without having to delete user accounts.

When a user no longer requires access to the system the user account can be easily disabled. Disabling idle user accounts frees up a license for another user. You can enable and disable account in both the Web Client and FDA.

By default, when a user is created in the system, the account is enabled.

NOTE: If you need to delete the user account, be sure to use the Change Document Owner and Change Cabinet/Folder Owner features in the Library Administration area to give the cabinets, folders, and documents a new owner.

You will need to enable a user account if they have exceeded the number of login attempts set in FileHold.

To enable a user account

  1. In the Web Client, go to Administration Panel > System Management > User Management > Users and do one of the following:

  • Click the arrow next to the disabled user name and select Enable FileHold account.

  • Select the check box next to a disabled user name and click Enable Account.

  1. In FDA, go to Administration > User Management > Users and do one of the following:

  • Right-click on a user name and select Enable Account.

  • Select the check box next to a disabled user name and click Enable Account Enable account icon.

  1. The FileHold account status changes to Enabled.

To disable user account

  1. In the Web Client, go to Administration Panel > System Management > User Management > Users and do one of the following:

  • Click the arrow next to the enabled user name and select Disable FileHold account.

  • Select the check box next to an enabled user name and click Disable Account.

  1. In FDA, go to Administration > User & Group Management > Users and do one of the following:
  • Right-click on a user name and select Disable Account.

  • Select the check box next to a disabled user name and click Disable Account Disable account icon.

  1. The FileHold account status changes to Disabled.