1.877.833.1202

Deleting Users and Groups

You can delete users and groups from the document management system. However, it is recommended that you disable user accounts instead of deleting them. You can delete both users and groups from the Web Client and the FDA.

Deleting Users

Deleting a user from the system removes any ownership of the deleted user's documents, folders or cabinet ownership. It is recommended to not delete a user if you wish to maintain the account in case the user ever will need access to FileHold again. Instead, you should simply disable a user account. This way the account can be re-enabled in the future.

TIP: If you must delete the user account, be sure to use the Change Document Owner and Change Cabinet/Folder Owner features in the Library Administration area to give the cabinets, folders, and documents created/owned by this user to a new owner.

NOTE: The actual user account is never deleted - the user name is internally represented by a GUID that lives forever. In FileHold 14.1 and earlier versions, prior to deleting a user, we suggest you change the last name of the user to indicate the user is deleted. This way if a user with the same name is added in the future, there will be no confusion in the document usage log. For example, if you will delete the user John Smith, change the last name to Smith(deleted20130820) before deleting it. The name displayed in the usage log will clearly distinguish between the old and the new John Smith. In FileHold 14.2 and later versions, this is done automatically by the system. No manual manipulation of the name is required.

To delete a user account

  1. Go to Administration Panel > System Management > User Management > Users and select the check box for user account you want to delete. You can use the Search feature to find a user.

  2. Click Delete.

  • In FDA, click the Delete icon Delete user.

  1. You will receive a warning message that you are about to delete a user and it will specifically warn that "All previous associations with documents added by this user shall be lost and are not recoverable"

  • This message simply means that the user account and its associations cannot be recovered if you delete the account, and the Cabinets, Folders, and Documents created by this user will no longer have an owner, as the user has been permanently deleted.

  • Deleting a user does not delete the Cabinets, Folders, and Documents - it removes the user's ownership of those items.

    • If you wish to maintain these ownership associations, then simply disable the account.

  • Click OK to delete the user. The user account is removed from the list of FileHold users, and there is no way to recover this account.

    • Then you will need to change ownership using the Change Document Owner and Change Cabinet/Folder Owner features in the Library Administration area to give the cabinets, folders, and documents created/owned by this user to a new owner.

Deleting Groups

WARNING: Deleting a group will delete the group from all cabinet, folder, and document schema memberships. This action cannot be undone.

To delete a group

  1. Go to Administration Panel > System Management > User Management > Groups and click the arrow next to the group name.

  2. Click Delete.

  • In FDA, right-click on the group name and select Delete.

  1. You will receive a warning message about deleting the group. Click OK to delete the group.