1.877.833.1202

Miscellaneous Preferences - Client Options

There are some miscellaneous settings which can be configured globally. They are described in the table below.

To set the global miscellaneous preferences

  1. In the Web Client, go to Administration Panel > System Configuration > Client Options > Misc Preferences.
  2. Use the following table to set the global miscellaneous preferences for the document management software:

Option

Description

Values

Default Value

Default page in Web Client after log in

Sets the default screen for the Web Client only after a user logs in.

To the default screen in the FDA, see User Preferences.

Blank

Simple Search

Advanced Search

Tasks

Blank

Edit metadata upon Check In action

When enabled, the metadata pane is displayed in edit mode after a new version is checked in. This allows the user to enter new metadata.

If disabled, the user can check the document back in without editing metadata.

Enabled

Disabled

Disabled

Number of expanded drawers

The number of drawers that can be simultaneously expanded in the library tree.

The last number of drawers opened is preserved when the library is refreshed.

The lower number of expanded drawers allows for a faster page loading time since the lower number of permissions that needs to be calculated before displaying the library structure to the user.

1, 2, 3, 4, or 5

3

  1. Select the Enforce check box next to the preference you want to be imposed on all users. Users will not be able to modify this setting in their User preferences. Administrators may be able to modify their personal User preferences which are dependent upon the setting in System Configuration > Settings > General.
  2. To reset the value for all users, click the Reset button next to the option name. At the prompt message, click OK. The settings will take effect the next time the user logs into FileHold.
  3. To reset all Misc preference options to their original default values, click Reset All Settings.
  4. Click Save. The changes will be pushed out to all end users unless their User preferences have been previously modified. If the option is set to “enforced” then their preferences will be changed and locked down (meaning they cannot be modified by the end user) except for possibly Library Administrators or higher.