1.877.833.1202

FDA - Client Options

The FDA Advanced settings area is some of the options that are set in the User Preferences in the FileHold Desktop Application (FDA). These are only for the FDA.

To set the global FDA Advanced Settings preferences

  1. In the Web Client, go to Administration Panel > System Configuration > Client Options > FDA Advanced Settings.
  2. Use the following table to set the global FDA Advanced Settings preferences for the document management software:

Option

Description/Values

Default Value

Show Welcome Screen at Startup

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Enabled

Default screen at startup

Blank

Maximum simultaneous transfers (This is the number of documents that can be uploaded or downloaded at a time)

This number can be any value but it is recommended to keep it at 1.

1

By default delete documents that a user Adds to FileHold

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

By default delete documents that a user Checks In to FileHold

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

Prompt for Download Location when a user Makes Copies of Files

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Enabled

 

Prompt for Download Location when a user Checks Out Files

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Enabled

 

Prompt user to remove files when sending them from the Inbox

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Enabled

 

Automatically clean up user's working documents

Documents in the working documents folder are cleaned up automatically or with a prompt message depending if the option “Prompt before automatically cleaning up user’s working documents” is enabled.

Local files that are in use by another process are not deleted and remain in the working documents and are processed the next time there is a trigger condition. Local files associated with electronic documents that are modified are not deleted. These files should be managed using manual check in or the working documents synchronization tool. Once the documents have been checked in / synchronized they will be subject to the automatic deletion rules.

Possible values:

  • Enabled
  • Disabled
Enabled
Prompt before automatically cleaning up user’s working documents

A prompt asks the user if they want to remove the files in their working documents folder.

The option “Automatically clean up user’s working documents” must be enabled for this option to work.

The prompts are dependent on the conditions enabled in the “Clean up working documents extended conditions” area or when a user exits the FDA.

Possible values:

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

Clean up working documents extended conditions

Documents are automatically cleaned up or the user is prompted to clean up their working documents upon the following if any of the following conditions are enabled.

If no options are selected, then the working documents are removed when a user exits the FDA.

Possible options (select one or more):

  • When the FDA is minimized to the system tray.
  • When the user logs out.
  • When the FDA detects it has been disconnected from FileHold server.
  • When the FDA receives a message from Windows to shutdown.

Disabled

Prompt to clean up the FileHold Working Folder when a user closes the FileHold Desktop Application

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Enabled

 

By default close documents that a user Adds/Checks In to FileHold

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

Auto-Send documents to Auto-Tagged folders

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

Auto-Send documents after completing metadata

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

Move to recycle bin instead of permanently deleting

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

Automatically open in the Viewer selected document in Inbox

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

Automatically open in the Viewer selected document in folders and search results

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

Open documents in the Document Viewer using separate tabs

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

Allow opening one document in multiple tabs

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

Enable Smart Check In and Smart Check Out messages

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Enabled

 

Enable Click to Tag

  • Enabled
  • Disabled

Disabled

Orientation of the thumbnail view - determines the location of the thumbnail position when using the PDF/Image viewer
  • Top
  • Bottom
  • Left
  • Right
Bottom
Format of document imports

Select one of the following options:

  • QuickScan Pro – select this option if you are using the EMC Captiva QuickScan Pro scanning software
  • Capture – select this option if you are using SmartSoft Capture scanning software
  • Both – select this option if any users could be using both QuickScan Pro and Capture at the same scanning station, for example sharing inboxes and imports, or using the Outlook Watched folder and Capture at this computer.

If you are using the “Both” option, ensure that folder you select for the import profile contains only one type of XML files. The rule also applied for any of its subfolders. Capture and QSP XML files cannot coexist in the same folder tree.

Both
Remain logged in even if no activity is performed

If enabled, this option keeps your account logged into the system even if you are not using the client by sending a message to the server every minute to simulate user activity. It is recommended to keep this option disabled as this overrides the "Automatically log off after" settings and users will potentially not be able to log in due to a lack of concurrent sessions.

Disabled
Enable the old FDA PDF/Image viewer. This viewer is end-of-life. Transition your users to the FileHold viewer as soon as possible.

By default, the PDF/Image viewer is disabled in FileHold 16.2. To allow users to continue to use the PDF/Image viewer, enable this setting.

Possible values:

  • Enabled
  • Disabled
Disabled

 

  1. Select the Enforce check box next to the preference you want to be imposed on all users. Users will not be able to modify this setting in their personal User preferences. Administrators may be able to modify their personal User preferences which are dependent upon the setting in System Configuration > Settings > General.
  2. To reset the value for all users, click the Reset button next to the option name. At the prompt message, click OK. The settings will take effect the next time the user logs into FileHold.
  3. To reset all User preference options to their original default values, click Reset All Settings.
  4. Click Save. The changes will be pushed out to all end users unless their preferences have been previously modified. If the option is set to “enforced” then their preferences will be changed and locked down (meaning they cannot be modified by the end user) except for possibly Library Administrators or higher.